Player Resource Consortium

Author Topic: PRC Module Updater Not Working  (Read 8941 times)

June 15, 2012, 10:14:50 PM
  • Adept
    • View Profile

Hi, since I'm a fan of NWN2, I figured I should try out NWN1.  So, I picked this up to go with it, but I'm having a problem.  I installed the PRC pack through the exe and everything, but couldn't get through the prologue.

I looked up everything I could, and found out about PRC_OCFix and that I need to use the PRC Module Updater to get it to work.

Thing is, the PRC Module Updater (which I downloaded from the NWNVault) just keeps on complaining that NWN is not installed, while inside the installation folder.

I tried running it as an administrator, I tried running it in compatibility mode, and both together, but it's just not recognizing the game.

I'm using Windows 7 64-Bit
And I'm using the GOG version of NWN Diamond Edition, updated to 1.69

June 16, 2012, 02:55:29 AM
Reply #1
    • View Profile

You're probably missing some NWN registry entries. Since I don't have experience with Windows 7 registry I can't tell you how to fix this. But you can try running PrcModuleUpdater.exe from commandline:
prcmoduleupdater.exe -n"d:\my path to nwn"
Hope this helps

June 16, 2012, 02:59:39 PM
Reply #2

Win 7 Regedit is pretty much the same as Win XP with the exception of some very specific dual 32/64 branches. For this, you shouldn't have to worry about those, however.

Considering that I'm new to the PRC, I've no idea whether it uses anything unusual to locate NWN, but my guess is that it's pretty simple and uses the following keys. Note that you can royally wreck your PC if you futz around with the wrong stuff in your registry. If you don't understand my directions and take responsibility for any possible issues that arise from following them, then don't proceed.

Registry information inside spoiler brackets.

Spoiler (hover to show)

I hope this is helpful.

June 17, 2012, 01:37:02 PM
Reply #3
  • Adept
    • View Profile