Player Resource Consortium

 

Author Topic: disable party xp adjustment  (Read 28786 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

October 14, 2010, 10:53:46 AM
Reply #15
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

Just tried this in another module. I'm getting the same message "You are too far away from the combat to gain any experience"

What's up?


October 14, 2010, 11:06:39 AM
Reply #16
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile

have you tried setting PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE switch? If the distance to killed monster is greater than the value of this switch, you'll gain no XP.

The value is in feet (I think).


October 14, 2010, 01:14:44 PM
Reply #17
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

I have it working now, thanks. The PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE switch did the trick.


October 14, 2010, 03:49:08 PM
Reply #18
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

What did you do differently than I did?

My modules have been slided to 0 xp...my personal_switch.2da looks like this:

Code: [Select]
2DA V2.0

     SwitchName                              SwitchType SwitchValue
1    PRC_XP_USE_PNP_XP                       int        1          
2    PRC_XP_PC_PARTY_COUNT_x100              int        100        
3    PRC_XP_HENCHMAN_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
4    PRC_XP_DOMINATED_PARTY_COUNT_x100       int        1          
5    PRC_XP_ANIMALCOMPANION_PARTY_COUNT_x100 int        1          
6    PRC_XP_FAMILIAR_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
7    PRC_XP_SUMMONED_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
8    PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE            int        1000        
9    PRC_MULTISUMMON                         int        1          


I'm importing the personal_switch.2da using prc options -> alter switches -> Read personal_switch.2da, etc, etc.

Still nothing.  Nothing whatsoever.  2 kill messages each kill and no rewards.  What PRC version are you using?  Are you using the setxp option?

I'm testing this on monsters in beggar's nest and no man's land since it only takes ~30 seconds to get to them.

Edit: Challenge rating for those monsters is anywhere from Easy (Weak Zombie) to Challenging (Rabid Dog/Zombie).
« Last Edit: October 14, 2010, 04:12:22 PM by Xand »


October 14, 2010, 07:10:30 PM
Reply #19

I thought 2das were supposed to start with row 0? That one starts with row 1?

Also you have the 2da sitting in your override folder correct?


October 14, 2010, 07:37:46 PM
Reply #20
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Yeah, it's in the override folder.  I was basing my .2da format on the example xwarren provided.  Is there a way to make it spit out the current settings for a specific string to confirm that it is in fact implementing the line properly?  I doubt that's the case because the multisummon line works fine, but it's a thought.

Also, what is the maximum value a string will accept?  (Specifically, PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE)

Obviously making it work is my first priority, but if I ever manage to I'd want that as large as possible.


October 14, 2010, 09:08:14 PM
Reply #21
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

add PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE , I set it to 150


October 14, 2010, 09:31:30 PM
Reply #22
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Yeah, that's been added.  I had it set to 1000, but I lowered it to 150 with no effect.

I'm sending you a PM since you're the only person I know that's gotten this to work.


October 14, 2010, 10:12:00 PM
Reply #23
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile

Xand

If you figure this out, I would like to know the answer.

NOTE:  I found that making a change to the 2da for XP did not take affect in existing games.  I had to start new games for the XP changes to take (even though they were the double experience and not what I wanted).


October 14, 2010, 11:07:24 PM
Reply #24
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

PRC_XP_USE_SETXP  

I am also using this.

One question, what level is your character? If your character level is too high comapred to the critter, you will not get any XP. I realized this was the problem with the Hotu game I was testing. Try this with a low-level (1-3) character and scenario.


October 15, 2010, 12:22:15 AM
Reply #25
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

Yeah, according to the file I believe it was CR > abs(+/- 8) does not give XP.

So I added SetXP and got nothing...but then added the "PRC_XP_GIVE_XP_TO_NPCS int 1" line and now it's finally working.  I don't know why that line seemed to do it, but it did.  My current .2da is:

Code: [Select]
2DA V2.0

     SwitchName                              SwitchType SwitchValue
1    PRC_XP_USE_PNP_XP                       int        1          
2    PRC_XP_PC_PARTY_COUNT_x100              int        100        
3    PRC_XP_HENCHMAN_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
4    PRC_XP_DOMINATED_PARTY_COUNT_x100       int        1          
5    PRC_XP_ANIMALCOMPANION_PARTY_COUNT_x100 int        1          
6    PRC_XP_FAMILIAR_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
7    PRC_XP_SUMMONED_PARTY_COUNT_x100        int        1          
8    PRC_XP_MAX_PHYSICAL_DISTANCE            int        150        
9    PRC_MULTISUMMON                         int        1          
10   PRC_XP_SLIDER_x100                      int        100        
11   PRC_XP_USE_SETXP                        int        1          
12   PRC_XP_GIVE_XP_TO_NPCS                  int        1          


Now I'm facing the problem of getting entirely too much xp (300 per zombie lol).  Obviously I can manipulate that with the slider, but as I've never played through the campaigns before I'm not sure how to pace myself.  I'm about to play through all 3 campaigns with my girlfriend, so if someone wants to fill me in on what levels I should expect to end each game on (and each Chapter of the first one if you're pro) I'll attempt to come up with a rough estimate to compare that to.

How's the pace of your HotU game going, barna10?  I'm thinking of arbitrarily setting the slider to give the same amount of experience for an easily accessible creature (zombie, probably).  This might have the side effect of giving me not enough later on.  I'm not sure.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2010, 12:23:10 AM by Xand »


October 15, 2010, 02:23:45 AM
Reply #26
  • Associate
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile

I haven't gone back into it yet. It does appear to be calculating the correct XP. It is just going to be an adjustment from the stingy Bioware XP system.


October 15, 2010, 11:28:21 AM
Reply #27

Bioware XP is 10% of normal for 3e. You should be able to set this line from 100 to 10 to revert to the stingy XP.

10   PRC_XP_SLIDER_x100                      int        10

Replacing line 10 with that should put the XP back to Bioware levels.


October 15, 2010, 12:53:38 PM
Reply #28
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

What about this "PRC_XP_USE_SIMPLE_LA" flag?  Description is a  little vague:

 * This modifies the amount of XP a character recieves based on Level Adjustment
 * - Doesn't take racial hit dice into account.
 * - Should work with any prior XP system.
 * - Use this on pre-exisitng modules.

I suppose I could also run a low "PRC_XP_MAX_LEVEL_DIFF" so that if I was wrong it wouldn't get too out of control...but that would have the downside of probably not awarding me XP for higher level bosses.  (Edit: Scratch this, I see now that it pertains to difference between killer/party member...not killer/baddie).

I'll probably run with a max level diff net and the slider ratio'd to have it match one of those first creatures, but I'm worried that barna10 saw roughly equivalent XP in HotU...that tells me that it's possible their scale slides up as level increases.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2010, 01:10:29 PM by Xand »


October 15, 2010, 01:33:04 PM
Reply #29

I think that notation assume you know how the normal level adjustment system works.

As I said setting the PRC_XP_SLIDER_x100 int to 10, instead of having it at 100 should make the XP work like stock. By default the Bioware system has their slider set to 10%. Have you tried changing that setting yet?
« Last Edit: October 15, 2010, 01:36:11 PM by KenquinnTheInsaneOne »