Player Resource Consortium

 

Author Topic: Psion Wizard Cerebremancer Spells Known  (Read 3943 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

December 12, 2011, 03:28:41 AM

Should a Psion/Wizard/Cerebremancer gain 2 spells known per cerebremancer level? When I was leveling up a cerebremancer for HotU I only got to learn new powers on level up and not any new wizard spells.


December 12, 2011, 06:39:34 AM
Reply #1
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • New Member
    • View Profile

As far as the PnP goes, the Sage FAQ has this to say:

Quote from: 3rd Edition Rules FAQ
QuestionAnswer: They do add spells to their lists. For example, a wizard/loremaster gains 2 spells for her spellbook when using a loremaster level to increase spellcasting. A sorcerer/loremaster would learn more spells as well. Adding spells to your spellbook or personal repertoire is part of spellcasting.

But some people contend that the bonus 2 spells per class level are a class feature of the Wizard, listed under the Spellbooks section rather than in its own.  A search on the topic has some people mentioning an official WotC prestige class that agrees that you don't get the two spells, and I believe I've read that too.  Master Specialist, on the other hand, says you get the two spells as normal.



As far as NWN and the PRC goes, I -think- it's an engine limitation rather than a conscious decision based on any of the above.


December 12, 2011, 06:53:00 AM
Reply #2
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1439
  • Karma: +27/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile

I always treated wizards free spells as a class ability - I've coded Archivist the same way: free spells on archivist levels, no free spells at prestige levels. It just seemd right to me, and I never even bothered searching other opinions on this matter. (I guess we can say that it was not a conscious decision ;) )

Winla is right - spell learning process is hard-coded (that's why we've added 'new spellbooks' for sorcerers and bards). We could add free spell scrolls as a workaround but (imho) it's just not worth the hassle.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 06:54:32 AM by xwarren »


December 12, 2011, 07:38:03 AM
Reply #3
  • Adept
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • New Member
    • View Profile

Yeah, I've personally always interpreted the bonus spells to be a part of the "other benefits" it says you don't get.